Kevin's Watch Forum Index
 HomeHome   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister   SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   FAQFAQ   StatisticsStatistics  SudokuSudoku   Phoogle MapPhoogle Map 
 AlbumAlbum StoresStores   StoresItems Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Rebooting the Gun Control Discussion
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 37, 38, 39  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Kevin's Watch Forum Index -> Hile Troy's Think-Tank
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ussusimiel
Ghurning

Male

Location: Waterford (milking cows), and sometimes still Dublin, Ireland
8363 White Gold Dollars
Tokens
HP

User Items:
1 Unfettered1 Member of THOOLAH1 2011 Watchies

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:05 pm    Post subject: Rebooting the Gun Control Discussion Reply with quote

(Disclaimer: I have only recently started looking at this subject in more depth and, obviously, I am no expert. I rely on the good graces of those who are more knowledgable to correct any glaring errors and, if required, direct my attention towards relevant things I have missed or am unintentionally ignorant of.)

After researching the subject, it seems that the last time that weapons were effectively banned in the US was the National Firearms Act of 1934 (see also the Miller case (1939), the Gun Control Act (1968) and the Heller case (2008)).* So it is clear that banning or severely restricting certain types of guns/weapons is possible, but it is also seems clear that it is only under certain circumstances (not necessarily related to rationality or the Constitution).

Much of the rhetoric of the Left around increasing the regulation of guns is impassioned and emotive (if generally well-intentioned**). However, there is a very simple and, at present, totally effective block to any measures they propose: the refusal of the Republican Party to countenance any legislation to that end.